Holy Saviour Roman Catholic Primary School, Nelson

Holland Place, Nelson, Lancashire BB9 8HD




Holy Saviour Governing Body

At Holy Saviour we are blessed to have a wonderful team of Governors who are dedicated to our school.  Our Governors meet three times a year as a full Governing Body and then at least another three times in addition to this for the committee they may be part of.  Most of our Governors belong to either the Finance, Staffing and Premises Committee or the Curriculum Committee.


Mr Bernard Swarbrick

Chair of Governors

Child Protection Governor

Bernard has been a Foundation Governor of Holy Saviour  since 2009.  He is a retired Secondary  Headteacher, and worked in Catholic education for 37 years.  He is  a former School Improvement Partner (advising Heads on the formulation and monitoring of targets and improvement plans). Bernard and his wife Elaine  have three grown-up children.
Bernard is a member of Independent  Admissions and Exclusions panels in Lancashire, Salford and Oldham and has a long association with local sport and drama. Bernard is also the Chair of Pendle Leisure Trust and was a magistrate until 2016.
As a committed parishioner of The Good Shepherd Parish, Bernard has a long connection with Holy Saviour School. His three children all attended Holy Saviour as well as nieces and nephews and he still has  one great-nephew in the school.
Bernard uses his experience both in Catholic education and in the wider educational context to help to contribute towards  the learning and wider development of the children  of Holy Saviour Roman Catholic Primary School.

Mrs Jummy Adefuye 

Member of Finance, Staffing & Premises Committee

Jummy is a married mother of two and a practising catholic who believes and devotes her spare time to supporting the education of our children. Her ambition is to contribute to good quality education for all our community. 

Monsignor Peter Wilkinson

Parish Priest of the Good Shepherd


Father Peter grew up in Blackburn and then went to seminary in Oscott, Birmingham. After six years in training he was ordained priest at St. Alban’s church, Blackburn in July 1977. Father Peter was part of the national team of full-time prison chaplains, beginning at HMP Manchester (Strangeways) and then promotion to be Principal RC (Prison) Chaplain for England and Wales. For his work in prisons he was appointed a Prelate of Honour with the title of Monsignor by His Holiness Pope St. John Paul II in 1991.

In addition he has spent some years in part-time chaplaincies including school chaplaincy, hospital chaplaincy and police chaplaincy both with Greater Manchester Police and Lancashire Constabulary where he received Divisional Commander’s Commendations in each.

His hobbies include playing various musical instruments,  scuba diving, walking, cycling, camping and caravanning, although the most energetic activity at the moment is being taken for walks by Clara, the Jack Russell.

Father Peter joined our parish in September 2017.



Mr Michael McIlroy

Chairman of Finance, Staffing & Premises Committee and Vice Chair of Governors

Literacy Governor


Michael is a member of the Sacred Heart/Good Shepherd Parish since moving to Colne from Bolton in 1985.  He was educated at Thornleigh Salesian College, Bolton,and University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology.
Michael has spent his entire career spent working in the manufacturing sector with a number of major manufacturing companies and thirty five years as a Director/Managing Director.
Michael was appointed as a Governor of Holy Saviour School in January 2014. Currently he is Chairman of the Finance, Staffing and Premises Committee, member of the Curriculum and Admissions Committees, and English Link Governor.





Mrs Janet Motyka

Staff Governor  


Janet has been involved with Holy Saviour School for the past 25 years, six as a volunteer and the last 19 as a member of staff. She is currently in her third term as staff governor. Within her role as governor she serves on the curriculum committee. Janet is also the link training governor which means that she organizes the training courses for all the other governors. Another role Janet has is the Eco Council governor. The role of a staff governor can be both challenging and rewarding and Janet has built strong links between the governing body and the staff of the school.  Janet  feels being a governor gives her a chance to make a positive contribution to children's education.


Mrs Claire Johnson

Member of Curriculum Committee

Pupil Premium Governor

Parent Governor

Claire has been part of the family of Holy Saviour since her daughter started in reception and she is now at   Fisher More and her son is still at Holy Saviour.

Claire has worked within early years for the past 20 years And it is her passion to watch children grow and develop, through learning and fun, and to help them to succeed.  
As an early years educator and more so a mum Claire feels it important to be involved in her child's eduction and school life.


Mr Tony Finnan

Chair of Curriculum Committee

SEN Governor

Tony Finnan is a former Head of History teacher at St. Theodore’s, Burnley. He was educated at Holy Saviour Secondary Modern, Nelson for a year and then went on to St. Bede’s College, Manchester and Sheffield University.

He then returned to Burnley where he taught mainly History and some Religious Education and English. He was involved in Games coaching, especially Rugby Union and Tennis.

Interest in rugby led to a playing, coaching and administrative involvement with Burnley Rugby Club and Belvedere and Calder Vale Sports Club which still continues.

He is an active member of St. John Southworth parish in Nelson. He has three children and two of his grandchildren are at Holy Saviour.

He is also a member of the Admissions Committee.





Mrs Helen Wood

Member of Finance, Staffing & Premises Committee

 Helen has two daughters, Georgina and Kelly who have both attended local catholic primary and secondary schools in Pendle. She regularly attends the Good Shepherd Parish, Colne.

Her career has included 14 years with NatWest bank, followed by 16 years in education, working as bursar at a local church primary school.  As bursar, she had a lot of experience with school budgets and the day to day running of a school and at the same time, working closely with governors and their needs.  She has also previously been a foundation governor, both at St Joseph's Barnoldswick and Ss J Fisher & T More High, Colne.

Helen so enjoyed her time in education and as a thank you, wanted to give back to education in some way and was happy to accept the role as foundation governor of Holy Saviour to give her support and experience to the governing body.


Ms Joanne Worsely

Local Authority Governor

Member of the Curriculum Committee